Bitcoin News

Newegg Adds Bitcoin Payment Option to 73 More Countries

California-based online retail store Newegg expanded Bitcoin (BTC) payment options to customers in 73 more countries.

Bitcoin payment remains unavailable in six out of over 80 Newegg-served countries

Following the announcement, Newegg customers can now purchase its products with Bitcoin (BTC) in almost all of the countries under Newegg’s coverage, according to a press release on July 24.

While Newegg reportedly serves over 80 countries worldwide, BTC payment will remain unavailable for customers residing in six countries: Algeria, Ecuador, Egypt, Indonesia, Morocco and Vietnam, the company noted on its website.

United States and Canada were the first countries where Newegg accepted BTC

Reportedly backed by Chinese company Liaison Interactive, Newegg became one of the first major online shopping stores to accept Bitcoin when the company partnered with Bitcoin payment processor BitPay back in 2014. At the time, Newegg rolled out the option of payment with BTC for residents in the United States, later adding the feature for Canadian citizens.

Back in 2017, Cointelegraph reported that Newegg’s Canadian arm dropped Bitccoin payments after BitPay halted settlements in Canadian dollars at the time.

Apart from providing low-cost and transparent transactions, BitPay reportedly enables Newegg to increase its margin on each Bitcoin transaction by avoiding credit card fees typically assessed on credit card purchases, the firm said in the announcement.

Founded in 2001, Newegg serves more than 80 countries in Europe, Asia Pacific, Latin America and the Middle East, with over 38 million registered customers.

Earlier today, one of Europe’s leading budget airlines, Norwegian Air, was reported to be planning to allow passengers to buy tickets using Bitcoin

View original post

Show More


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button